Cowles Quarterly Newsletter

Faculty Focus

Fabrizio Zilibotti
Fabrizio Zilibotti on How Economics Shapes Parenting

By Michael Cummings

Fabrizio Zilibotti, the Tuntex Professor of International and Development Economics at Yale, and Cowles faculty staff member spoke with Yale News about his new book, “Love, Money & Parenting: How Economics Explains the Way We Raise Our Kids.” Zilibotti and co-author Matthias Doepke, a professor of economics at Northwestern University, make the...

Read more
Indian women with child
Costas Meghir on Seeking Scalable Solutions to Entrenched Poverty

By Mike Cummings

Yale economist and Cowles staff member Costas Meghir spoke to Yale News about this ongoing research, which is funded by the National Institutes of Health.

Yale economist and Cowles Staff Member ...

Read more


Chen and Meghir
Chen, Meghir Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Cowles research staff members Xiaohong Chen, Malcolm K. Brachman Professor of Economics, and Costas Meghir, Douglas A Warner III Professor of Economics, were both elected to the 239th class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professors Chen and Meghir will join more than 200 other members elected into the 2019 class of the American Academy of Arts...

Read more
Finlay, Kwon, Min, Shukla, and Wang
2019-20 Arvid Anderson Fellows Announced

The Cowles Foundation has announced the 2019-20 recipients of the Arvid Anderson Prize Fellowship in Economics.  The five graduate students are: John Finlay (International Trade and Macroeconomics), Soonwoo Kwon (Econometrics), Weicheng Min (Microeconomic Theory and Behavioral Economics), Soumitra Shukla (Labor Economics, Economics of Education, and Industrial Organization), and Xinyang Wang (General Equilibrium Theory and Game Theory).

The fellowship prize is awarded...

Read more
Tjalling Koopmans’ Nobel Prize Medal in display case
A Place of Its Own: Tjalling Koopmans’ Nobel Prize Medal Now on Display
The Cowles Foundation has put Tjalling Koopmans’ Nobel Prize Medal on permanent display at 30 Hillhouse. A secure showcase alongside a plaque are mounted on a wall in the front lobby prominently displaying the prize.
The medal was gifted to Cowles by the Frankel family during an intimate ceremony held at 28 Hillhouse Avenue on May 24, 2019. The donation of Koopmans’ Nobel Medal is especially meaningful, as he was a life-long staff member of Cowles Foundation who served two terms as director in the 1960s, and...
Read more
Mosaic tile of new Cowles members
New Faces of Cowles

The Cowles Foundation has welcomed several new research staff members over the last two years. A brief bio-sketch follows introducing our members who represent a diverse range of fields in Economics.

Orazio Attanasio
Read more
2020-21 Anderson Fellows: Zijian He, Disa Hynjo, Masaki Miyashita, Vitor Possebom, and Trever Williams
2020-21 Arvid Anderson Fellows Announced

The Cowles Foundation has announced the 2020-21 recipients of the Arvid Anderson Prize Fellowship in Economics.  The five graduate students are: Zijian He (international trade and macroeconomics), Disa Hynjo (labor economimcs), Masaki Miyashita (decision theory and social choice), Vitor Possebom (econometrics and applied...

Read more
2021-22 Anderson Fellows: Haoge Chang, Zara Contractor, Lucas Finamor, Tan Gan, and Ryungha Oh
2021-22 Arvid Anderson Fellows Announced

The Cowles Foundation congratulates the 2021-22 recipients of the Arvid Anderson Prize Fellowship in Economics.  The five graduate students are: Haoge Chang (Econometrics), Zara Contractor (Labor Economics and Macroeconomics), Lucas Finamor (Labor Economics and Public Finance), Tan Gan (Micro Theory), and Ryungha Oh (...

Read more

From the Archives

New York Times photo of Leonid V. Kantorovich and Tjalling C. Koopmans
Two Economists Win Nobel Prizes

To commemorate Tjalling Koopmans’ Nobel Medal, we take a look back at the October 15, 1975 New York Times article announcing the prize awarded to both Koopmans and Leonid Kantrovovich.

STOCKHOLM, Oct. 14 —Leonid V. Kantorovich of the Soviet Union and Tjalling C. Koopmans of Yale University were named by the Swedish Royal Academy of Science today as co‐winners of the 1975 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science.

By The...

Read more
Mira Frick on campus
Cowles member Mira Frick awarded a 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship

Mira Frick, an Assistant Professor of Economics at Yale and Cowles Foundation member, has been awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship. The two-year, $75,000 fellowships are awarded annually by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to early-career scholars across several scientific and technical disciplines in recognition of their distinguished performance and unique potential to become leaders in their fields.

Read an interview with Prof. Frick about the fellowship on the...

Read more