2022 Conference on Labor and Public Economics

June 6, 2022

Location: Yale School of Management 
Evans Hall, 165 Whitney Ave., Beinecke Room  

[Hotel Map - Building Map]

Organizers: Joseph Altonji and Cormac O’Dea


Monday, June 6
8:00am to 9:00am

Registration and Breakfast

9:00am to 9:45am Lisa Kahn* (University of Rochester), Linsday Oldenski (Georgetown University), Geunyong Park (University of Rochester), “Trade and Race”
9:45am to 10:30am Pascal Noel* (University of Chicago), Peter Ganong (University of Chicago), Fiona Greig (JP Morgan Chase Institute ), Daniel Sullivan (JP Morgan Chase Institute ), Joseph Vavra (University of Chicago Booth), “Spending and Job-Finding Impacts of Expanded Unemployment Benefits: Evidence from Administrative Micro Data”
10:30am to 11:00am

Coffee Break

11:00am to 11:45am David Deming (Harvard University), “TBC”
11:45am to 12:30pm Paula Calvo* (Arizona State University), Ilse Lindenlaub (Yale University), Ana Reynoso (University of Michigan - Ann Arbor), “Marriage Market and Labor Market Sorting”
12:30pm to 1:45pm


1:45pm to 2:30pm Carolina Arteaga* (University of Toronto), Victoria Barone (University of California, Los Angeles), “A Manufactured Tragedy: The Origins and Deep Ripples of the Opioid Epidemic”
2:30pm to 3:15pm Jesse Shapiro* (Harvard University), Veli Andirin (Brown University), Yusuf Neggers (University of Michigan - Ann Arbor), Mehdi Shadmehr (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), “Measuring the Tolerance of the State: Theory and Application to Protest”
3:15pm to 3:45pm

Coffee Break

3:45pm to 4:30pm Zachary Bleemer* (Yale University), Aashish Mehta (University of California, Santa Barbara), “College Major Restrictions and Student Stratification”
4:30pm to 5:15pm Rebecca Diamond* (Stanford University), Enrico Moretti (University of California, Berkeley), “Where is Standard of Living the Highest? Local Prices and the Geography of Consumption”


6:00pm to 9:00pm

Dinner at Barcelona (155 Temple St.)

Participants List

Amanda Agan
(Rutgers University)
Claudia Allende
(Stanford University)
Joseph Altonji
(Yale University)
Veli Andirin
(Brown University)
Carolina Arteaga
(University of Toronto)
Zack Bleemer
(Yale University)
Paula Calvo
(Arizona State University)
Phil Haile
(Yale University)
Peter Hull
(Brown University)
John Eric Humphries
(Yale University)
Yujung Hwang
(Johns Hopkins University)
Lisa Kahn
(University of Rochester)
Adam Kapor
(Princeton University)
Gizem Kosar
(Federal Reserve Bank of NY)
Tomas Larroucau
(Arizona State University)
Zachary Liscow
(Yale University)
Robert Miller
(Carnegie Mellon University)
Yusuf Neggers
(University of Michigan)
Pascal Noel
(University of Chicago)
Cormac O’Dea
(Yale University)
Mehdi Shadmehr
(UNC - Chapel Hill)
Jesse Shapiro
(Harvard University)
Soumitra Shukla
(Federal Reserve)
Oliko Vardishvili
(Yale University)
Edward Vytlacil
(Yale University)
Pengpeng Xiao
(Duke University)