2019-20 Arvid Anderson Fellows Announced

05/17/2019Finlay, Kwon, Min, Shukla, and Wang

The Cowles Foundation has announced the 2019-20 recipients of the Arvid Anderson Prize Fellowship in Economics.  The five graduate students are: John Finlay (International Trade and Macroeconomics), Soonwoo Kwon (Econometrics), Weicheng Min (Microeconomic Theory and Behavioral Economics), Soumitra Shukla (Labor Economics, Economics of Education, and Industrial Organization), and Xinyang Wang (General Equilibrium Theory and Game Theory).

The fellowship prize is awarded annually to one or more pre-doctoral or post-doctoral students who are selected by a committee of Cowles professors in the Department of Economics with the approval of the Dean of the Graduate School. The cash prize also includes time off from academic duties for one semester, giving students time to concentrate on their research. 

With the fellowship’s purpose to foster the advancement of economic research, the award was established in 1982 by the award’s namesake, Carl Arvid Anderson. Mr. Anderson created the award out of inspiration from a scholarship he received as an Yale undergraduate, to which he attributes in helping him earn a B.A. in Economics in 1936.

In Anderson’s own words, the fund is intended to “promote the development of more effective methods of inquiry in economics and the dissemination of information resulting from such studies.” Since its foundation, nearly 130 recipients have been awarded the fellowship.

John Finlay Soonwoo Kwon Weicheng Min
Soumitra Shukla   Xinyang Wang