2017-18 Arvid Anderson Fellows


The Cowles Foundation has announced the 2017-18 recipients of the Arvid Anderson Prize Fellowship in Economics.  The five graduate students are: Ian Ball, Wayne Yuan Gao, Oren Sarig, Conor Walsh, and Ling Zhong.  The fellowship prize is awarded annually to one or more pre-doctoral or post-doctoral students who are selected by a committee of Cowles professors in the Department of Economics with the approval of the Dean of the Graduate School.  

With the fellowship’s purpose to foster the advancement of economic research, the award was established in 1982 by the award’s namesake, Carl Arvid Anderson. Mr. Anderson created the award out of inspiration from a scholarship he received as an Yale undergraduate, to which he attributes in helping him earn a B.A. in Economics in 1936.

In Anderson’s own words, the fund is to be used to “promote the development of more effective methods of inquiry in economics and the dissemination of information resulting from such studies.” Since its foundation, more than 120 recipients have been awarded the fellowship.