Symposium on Search Theory in Economics

September 18-19, 2009

SPONSORED BY: Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics and Journal of Economic Theory

ORGANIZERS: Giuseppe Moscarini (Yale University) and Randall Wright (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

12:00 Lunch
1:15 Opening Remarks
1:30 Rasmus Lentz (University Wisconsin-Madison), “Sorting by Search Intensity” [Slides]
2:30 Daniel Sanches and Stephen Williamson (Washington University–St. Louis), “Money and Credit with Limited Commitment and Theft” [Slides]
3:30 Break
4:00 Guido Menzio (University of Pennsylvania) and Shouyong Shi (University of Toronto), “Block Recursive Equilibria for Stochastic Models of Search on the Job” [Slides]
5:00 Rafael Silveira (Bank of America) and Randall Wright (University Wisconsin-Madison), “Liquidity and the Market for Ideas”
7:30 Dinner, Ibiza Restaurant, 39 High Street
8:00 Continental Breakfast
9:00 David Andolfatto (Simon Fraser University), “Essential Interest-Bearing Money” [Slides]
10:00 Ehsan Ebrahimy and Robert Shimer (University of Chicago), “Stock-Flow Matching” [Slides]
11:00 Break
11:30 Jan Eeckhout (University of Pennsylvania and Univ. Pompeu Fabra) and Philipp Kircher (University of Pennsylvania), “Sorting vs. Screening: Prices as Optimal Competitive Sales Mechanisms
12:30 Lunch
1:30 Darrell Duffie (Stanford University), Semyon Malamud (ETH Zurich), and Gustavo Manso (MIT), “The Relative Contributions of Private Information Sharing and Public Information Releases to Information Aggregation” [Slides]
2:30 Ricardo Lagos (New York University), “Some Results on the Optimality and Implementation of the Friedman Rule in the Search Theory of Money”
3:30 Break
4:00 James Albrecht, Axel Anderson, and Susan Vroman (Georgetown University), “Search by Committee” [Slides]
5:00 Kenneth Burdett (University of Pennsylvania) and Melvyn Coles (Essex University), “Wage/Tenure Contracts with Heterogeneous Firms”
6:00 Adjourn
James Albrecht (Georgetown University)
Axel Anderson (Georgetown University)
David Andolfatto (Simon Fraser University)
Kenneth Burdett (University of Pennsylvania)
Carlos Carrillo-Tudela (University of Leicester)
Ehsan Ebrahimy (University of Chicago)
Rasmus Lentz (University Wisconsin-Madison)
Jan Eeckhout (University of Pennsylvania &
   University Pompeu Fabra)
Philipp Kircher (University of Pennsylvania)
Ricardo Lagos (New York University)
Lucy Qian Liu (IMF)
Gustavo Manso (MIT)
Guido Menzio (University of Pennsylvania)
Giuseppe Moscarini (Yale University)
Daniel Sanches (Washington University-St. Louis)
Susan Schulze (Journal of Economic Theory)
Karl Shell (Cornell University)
Shouyong Shi (University of Toronto)
Susan Vroman (Georgetown University)
Randall Wright (University of Wisconsin-Madison)