2018 Conference on Macroeconomics

June 4-5, 2018

Location: Yale School of Management 
Evans Hall, 165 Whitney Ave., Room 2200

[Hotel Map - Building Map]

Organizers: Rüediger Bachmann and Martin Schneider



Monday, June 4
8:30am to 9:30am Registration and Breakfast
9:30am to 10:30am *Andrei Shleifer (Harvard University), Pedro Bordalo (University of Oxford), Nicola Gennaioli (Università Bocconi), Yueran Ma (Harvard University), "Overreaction in Macroeconomic Expectations"
10:30am to 10:45am Coffee Break
10:45am to 11:45am *Stefan Nagel (University of Chicago Booth), Zhengyang Xu (University of Michigan - Ann Arbor), "Asset Pricing with Fading Memory"
11:45am to 1:15pm
Discussant: Lunch PanelLunch
1:15pm to 2:15pm Rüediger Bachmann (Notre Dame University), Kai Carstensen (Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel), Stefan Lautenbacher (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München), *Martin Schneider (Stanford University), "Uncertainty and Change: Survey Evidence of Firms Subjective Beliefs"
2:15pm to 2:30pm Coffee Break
2:30pm to 3:30pm Nick Bloom (Stanford University), Steven J. Davis (University of Chicago Booth), Lucia Foster (U.S. Census Bureau), Brian Lucking (Stanford University), "Business-Level Expectations and Uncertainty"
3:30pm to 3:45pm Coffee Break
3:45pm to 4:45pm *Ulrike Malmendier (University of California, Berkeley), Stefan Nagel (University of Chicago Booth), Zhen Yan (University of Michigan - Ann Arbor), "The Making of Hawks and Doves"
4:45pm to 5:00pm Coffee Break
5:00pm to 6:00pm *Michael Weber (University of Chicago Booth), Francesco D'Acunto (University of Maryland), Daniel Hoang (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), "Human Frictions to the Transmission of Economic Policy"
7:00pm to 9:00pm Dinner - Zinc Restaurant[Map]
Tuesday, June 5
8:30am to 9:30am Breakfast
9:30am to 10:30am *Gianluca Violante (Princeton University), Greg Kaplan (University of Chicago), Kurt Mitman (University of Pennsylvania), "The Housing Boom and Bust: Model Meets Evidence"
10:30am to 10:45am Coffee Break
10:45am to 11:45am Michael Woodford (Columbia University), "Monetary Policy Analysis when Planning Horizons are Finite"
11:45am to 12:45pm Lunch
12:45pm to 1:45pm Jeffrey Fuhrer (Federal Reserve Bank of Boston), "Intrinsic Expectations Persistence"
1:45pm to 2:00pm Coffee Break
2:00pm to 3:00pm *Matthew Shapiro (University of Michigan - Ann Arbor), Pamela Giustinelli (Università Bocconi), "SeaTE: Subjective ex ante Treatment Effect of Health on Retirement"
3:00pm Adjourn


Hassan Afrouzi
(Columbia University)
Stefan Lautenbacher
(Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)
Joseph Altonji
(Yale University)
Ming Li
(Yale University)
Antoine Arnoud
(Yale University)
Yueran Ma
(Harvard University)
Rüediger Bachmann
(Notre Dame University)
Ulrike Malmendier
(University of California, Berkeley)
Nicholas Barberis
(Yale University)
Arthur Mendes
(Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro)
Lukas Buchheim
(Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)
Monica Morlacco
(Yale University)
Charles Cai
(Yale University)
Giuseppe Moscarini
(Yale University)
Kai Carstensen
(Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel)
Gernot Mueller
(University of Tuebingen)
Jin-Wook Chang
(Yale University)
Stefan Nagel
(University of Chicago Booth)
Taha Choukhmane
(Yale University)
Yusuke Narita
(Yale University)
Francesco D'Acunto
(University of Maryland)
Scott Ohlmacher
(U.S. Census Bureau)
Patrick Donnelly Moran
(University of Oxford)
Michael Peters
(Yale University)
Chuan Du
(Yale University)
Martin Schneider
(Stanford University)
Fabian Eckert
(Yale University)
Matthew Shapiro
(University of Michigan - Ann Arbor)
William English
(Yale University)
Andrei Shleifer
(Harvard University)
Lucia Foster
(U.S. Census Bureau)
Stephen Terry
(Boston University)
Jeffrey Fuhrer
(Federal Reserve Bank of Boston)
Giorgio Topa
(Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
Gary Gorton
(Yale University)
Oreste Tristani
(European Central Bank)
Brian Greaney
(Yale University)
Joao Paulo Valente
(Yale University)
Zijian He
(Yale University)
Gianluca Violante
(Princeton University)
Mads Hejlesen
(Aarhus University)
Vanessa Vytlacil
(Yale University)
Joachim Hubmer
(Yale University)
Michael Weber
(University of Chicago)
Zhen Huo
(Yale University)
Michael Woodford
(Columbia University)
Tatjana Kleineberg
(Yale University)
Tianhao Wu
(Yale University)
Antzelos Kyriazis
(Yale University)
Xiaochuan Xing
(Yale University)
Louise Laage
(Yale University)