New Perspectives in Macroeconomics, Development and International Trade

June 10 – 11, 2015

Watson Center, 60 Sachem Street, Room A53 [Map]

Organizers: Michael Peters and Richard Rogerson

*Speaker, when more than one author listed

8:15 Breakfast
9:00 Klaus Desmet (Southern Methodist University), Dávid Krisztián Nagy (Princeton University), and *Esteban Rossi-Hansberg (Princeton University), “The Geography of Development: Evaluating Migration Restrictions and Coastal Flooding
    Discussant: Costas Arkolakis (Yale University)
10:00 *Pablo Fajgelbaum (University of California-Los Angeles), Eduardo Morales (Princeton University), Juan Carlos Suárez-Serrato (Duke University), and Owen Zidar (University of Chicago-Booth), “State Taxes and Spatial Misallocation”
    Discussant: Jon Vogel (Columbia University)
11:00 Coffee
11:15 Martin Beraja, *Erik Hurst, and Juan Ospina (University of Chicago-Booth), “The Aggregate Implications of Regional Business Cycles
    Discussant: Virgiliu Midrigan (New York University)
12:15 Lunch
1:30 Steven J. Davis (University of Chicago) and *John Haltiwanger (University of Maryland), “Labor Market Fluidity and Economic Performance
    Discussant: Lisa Kahn (Yale University)
2:30 *Benjamin Pugsley and Aysegül Sahin (Federal Reserve Bank of New York), “Grown-up Business Cycles
    Discussant: Jesse Perla (University of British Columbia)
3:30 Coffee
3:45 Oriana Bandiera (London School of Economics), *Robin Burgess (London School of Economics), Narayan Das (BRAC), Selim Gulesci (London School of Economics), Imran Rasul (University College London), and Munshi Sulaiman (BRAC-Africa), “Can Basic Entrepreneurship Transform the Economic Lives of the Poor?”
    Discussant: Doug Gollin (Oxford University)
4:45 Benjamin Moll (Princeton University), *Rob Townsend (MIT), and Victor Zhorin (University of Chicago), “Economic Development and the Equilibrium Interaction of Financial Frictions
    Discussant: Yongseok Shin (Washington University-St. Louis)
6:30 Dinner at Sam Kortum’s Place, 22 Everit Street
8:15 Breakfast
9:00 Joaquin Blaum (Brown University), Claire Lelarge (CREST), and Michael Peters (Yale University), “The Gains From Input Trade in Firm-Based Models of Importing
    Discussant: Arnaud Costinot (MIT)
10:00 Jonathan Eaton (Brown University) and *Sam Kortum (Yale University), and Francis Kramarz (CREST-ENSAE), “Firm-to-Firm Trade: Imports, Exports, and the Labor Market
    Discussant: Jim Tybout (Penn State)
11:00 Coffee
11:15 Rodrigo Adao (MIT), Arnaud Costinot (MIT), and *Dave Donaldson (Stanford University), “Robust Counterfactual Analysis in Neoclassical Models of International Trade
    Discussant: Ariel Burstein (University of California-Los Angeles)
12:15 Lunch
1:30 Hugo Hopenhayn (University of California-Los Angeles), “On the Measure of Distortions
    Discussant: Gustavo Ventura (Arizona State University)
2:30 Samuel Bazzi (Boston University), Hartmut Egger (University of Bayreuth), Michael Koch (University of Bayreuth), and *Marc-Andreas Muendler (University of California-San Diego), “Labor Productivity and Wage Inequality” [Abstract]
    Discussant: David Lagakos (University of California-San Diego)
3:30 Coffee
3:45 Piyusha Mutreja (Syracuse University), *B. Ravikumar (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis), and Michael Sposi (Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas), “Capital Goods Trade and Economic Development
    Discussant: Berthold Herrendorf (Arizona State University)


Rodrigo Rodrigues Adao (MIT)
Costas Arkolakis (Yale University)
Antoine Arnoud (Yale University)
Martin A. Beraja (University of Chicago)
Maliheh Birjandi (Yale University)
Joaquin Blaum (Brown University)
Robin Burgess (London School of Economics)
Ariel Burstein (University of California-Los Angeles)
Lorenzo Caliendo (Yale University)
Jin-Wook Chang (Yale University)
Taha Choukhmane (Yale University)
Arnaud Costinot (MIT)
Klaus Desmet (Southern Methodist University)
Jonathan Dingel (University of Chicago-Booth)
Dave Donaldson (Stanford University)
Maximiliano Dvorkin (Federal Reserve Bank-St. Louis)
Fabian Eckert (Yale University)
Federico Esposito (Yale University)
Pablo Fajgelbaum (University of California-Los Angeles)
Julia Garlick (Yale University)
Penny Goldberg (Yale University)
Douglas Gollin (University of Oxford)
Matthew Grant (Yale University)
John Haltiwanger (University of Maryland)
Sebastian Heise (Yale University)
Berthold Herrendorf (Arizona State University)
Hugo Hopenhayn (University of California-Los Angeles)
Joachim Hubmer (Yale University)
Zhen Huo (University of Minnesota)
Erik Hurst (University of Chicago-Booth)
Lisa Kahn (Yale University)
Tatjana Kleineberg (Yale University)
Samuel Kortum (Yale University
David Lagakos (University of California-San Diego)
Eunhee Lee (Yale University)
Virgiliu Midrigan (New York University)
Eduardo Morales (Princeton University)
Monica Morlacco (Yale University)
Giuseppe Moscarini (Yale University)
Marc-Andreas Muendler (University of California-San Diego)
Max Perez Leon Quinoso (Yale University)
Jesse Perla (University of British Columbia)
Michael Peters (Yale University)
Tommaso Porzio (Yale University)
Benjamin Pugsley (Federal Reserve Bank-New York)
B. Ravikumar (Federal Reserve Bank-St. Louis)
Ana Reynoso (Yale University)
Richard Rogerson (Princeton University)
Esteban Rossi-Hansberg (Princeton University)
Aysegul Sahin (Federal Reserve Bank-New York)
Gabriella Santangelo (Yale University)
Todd Schoellman (Arizona State University)
Peter Schott (Yale University)
Joseph Shapiro (Yale University)
Yongseok  Shin (Washington University-St. Louis)
Tony Smith (Yale University)
Michael Sposi (Federal Reserve Bank-Dallas)
Christopher Tonetti (Stanford University-GSB)
Robert Townsend (MIT)
Aleh Tsyvinski (Yale University)
James Tybout (Penn State University)
Gustavo Ventura (Arizona State University)
Jonathan Vogel (Columbia University)
Conor Walsh (Yale University)
Owen Zidar (University of Chicago-Booth)