Joe-Fest 2018: A Conference in Honor of Joe Altonji’s 65th Birthday

September 7-8, 2018

Location: Yale School of Management
Evans Hall, 165 Whitney Ave., Room 2400

Organizers: Dan Aaronson, Lisa Kahn, Costas Meghir, and Chris Taber 


Friday, September 7
9:00am to 10:00am

Registration and Breakfast

10:00am to 10:45am Jeffrey Clemens (University of California, San Diego), Lisa B. Kahn* (University of Rochester), Jonathan Meer (Texas A&M University), “Dropouts Need Not Apply: The Minimum Wage and Skill Upgrading”

Discussant: Dan Aaronson (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
10:45am to 11:30am Rick Mansfield (University of Colorado at Boulder), “How Local Are U.S. Labor Markets?: Using an Assignment Model to Forecast the Geographic and Skill Incidence of Local Labor Demand Shocks”

Discussant: John Kennan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
11:30am to 12:00pm

Coffee Break

12:00pm to 12:45pm Benjamin Friedrich (Northwestern University), Lisa Laun (IAFU), Costas Meghir* (Yale University), Luigi Pistaferri (Stanford University), “Earnings Dynamics and Firm-Level Shocks”

Discussant: Peter Arcidiacono (Duke University)
12:45pm to 1:45pm


1:45pm to 2:30pm Gaurab Aryal (University of Virginia), Manudeep Bhuller (University of Oslo), Fabian Lange* (McGill University), “Employer Learning with Instruments” [Presentation material]

Discussant: Emily Nix (University of Southern California)
2:30pm to 3:15pm Nicolas Roys (Royal Holloway and Bedford New College), Chris Taber* (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “Skill Prices, Occupations and Changes in the Wage Structure for Low Skilled Men”

Discussant: Thomas Lemieux (University of British Columbia)
3:15pm to 3:45pm

Coffee Break

3:45pm to 4:30pm David Cho (Princeton University), Alan Krueger* (Princeton University), “Rent Sharing within Firms”

Discussant: Daniel Sullivan (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)

Dinner - Union League Cafe [Map]

Saturday, September 8
7:30am to 8:30am


8:30am to 9:15am Aloysius Siow* (University of Toronto), Ismael Mourifié (University of Toronto), “The Cobb Douglas Marriage Matching Function” [Presentation material]

Discussant: Ilse Lindenlaub (Yale University)
9:15am to 10:00am John Ham* (New York University), Ken Ueda (The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency), “Comparing the Conley-Taber and the Standard Approaches to Inference in Difference-in-Difference Models Based on Small Policy Variation: The Case of TennCare” [Presentation material]

Discussant: Corina Mommaerts (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
10:00am to 10:30am

Coffee Break

10:30am to 11:15am Bruce Meyer* (University of Chicago), Victoria Mooers (University of Chicago), Derek Wu (University of Chicago), “The Use of Misuse of Income Data and the Rarity of Extreme Poverty in the U.S.” [Presentation material]

Discussant: James Spletzer (U.S. Census Bureau)
11:15am to 12:00pm Todd Elder* (Michigan State University), David Figlio (Northwestern University), Scott Imberman (Michigan State University), Claudia Persico (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “School Segregation and Racial Gaps in Childhood Disability”

Discussant: Derek Neal (University of Chicago)
12:00pm to 12:15pm

Coffee Break

12:15pm to 1:00pm David Card* (University of California, Berkeley), Dean Hyslop (Motu Economic and Public Policy Research), “Female Earnings Inequality and the Extensive Margin”

Discussant: Janet Currie (Princeton University)
1:00pm to 2:00pm



Dan Aaronson (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
Fabian Lange (McGill University)
Jason Abaluck (Yale University)
Thomas Lemieux (University of British Columbia)
Daisuke Adachi (Yale University)
Ilse Lindenlaub (Yale University)
Mohit Agrawal (Yale University)
Bentley MacLeod (Columbia University)
Joe Altonji (Yale University)
Richard Mansfield (University of Colorado at Boulder)
Mary Altonji (Daughter)
Rosa Matzkin (UCLA)
Matt Altonji (Son)
Isaac McFarlin (University of Florida)
Priyanka Anand (George Mason University)
Peter McHenry (College of William and Mary)
Josh Angrist (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Rebecca McKibbin (Yale University)
Julian Aramburu (Yale University)
Costas Meghir (Yale University)
Peter Arcidiacono (Duke University)
Bruce Meyer (U.S. Census Bureau - University of Chicago)
Antoine Arnoud (Yale University)
Robert Moffitt (Johns Hopkins University)
Orley Ashenfelter (Princeton University)
Corina Mommaerts (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Dirk Bergemann (Yale University)
Daniela Morar (Yale University)
Marianne Bernatzky Koehli (Yale University)
Yusuke Narita (Yale University)
Barbara Biasi (Yale University)
Kritika Narula (Yale University)
Marianne Bruins (University of Oxford)
Derek Neal (University of Chicago)
Lorenzo Caliendo (Yale University)
Christopher Neilson (Princeton University)
Paula Calvo (Yale University)
Cynthia Nethercut (Yale University)
Eugene Canjels (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)
Emily Nix (University of Southern California)
David Card (University of California, Berkeley)
Cormac O'Dea (Yale University)
Gaurav Chiplunkar (Yale University)
Yoko Okuyama (Yale University)
David Cho (Princeton University)
Theodore Papageorgiou (McGill University)
Taha Choukhmane (Yale University)
Antonia Paredes Haz (Yale University)
Robert Coen (Northwestern University)
Charles Pierret (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Lucas Conwell (Yale University)
R. Vincent Pohl (University of Georgia)
Janet Currie (Princeton University)
Johanna Rickne (Stockholm University)
Will Damron (Yale University)
Larry Samuelson (Yale University)
Rafael Dix-Carneiro (Duke University)
Fiona Scott Morton (Yale University)
Thomas Dunn (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)
Soumitra Shukla (Yale University)
Todd Elder (Michigan State University)
Nachum Sicherman (Columbia University)
Jose-Antonio Espin-Sanchez (Yale University)
Sourav Sinha (Yale University)
Constanca Esteves-Sorenson (Yale University)
Aloysius Siow (University of Toronto)
Henry Farber (Princeton University)
Tony Smith (Yale University)
Lucas Finamor (Yale University)
Nicholas Snashall-Woodhams (Yale University)
Olle Folke (Uppsala University)
Oscar Soler Sanchez (Yale University)
Benjamin Friedrich (Northwestern University)
Suk Joon Son (Yale University)
John Geanakoplos (Yale University)
Jintaek Song (Yale University)
Dora Gicheva (University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
Jamin Speer (University of Memphis)
Phil Haile (Yale University)
Jim Spletzer (U.S. Census Bureau)
John Ham (NYU, Abu Dhabi)
Daniel Sullivan (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
John Eric Humphries (Yale University)
Chris Taber (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Yujung Hwang (Yale University)
Yen Tran (Yale University)
Hidehiko Ichimura (University of Arizona)
Emiko Usui (Hitotsubashi University)
Viraj Jorapur (Yale University)
Ivan Vidangos (Federal Reserve System)
Lisa Kahn (University of Rochester)
Ernesto Villanueva (Banco de España)
Adam Kapor (Princeton University)
Katherine Wagner (Yale University)
John Kennan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Ebonya Washington (Yale University)
Mark Klee (U.S. Census Bureau)
Jaya Wen (Yale University)
Al Klevorick (Yale University)
Pengpeng Xiao (Yale University)
Samuel Kortum (Yale University)
Xiaochuan Xing (Yale University)
Laurence Kotlikoff (Boston University)
Ling Zhong (Yale University)
Alan Krueger (Princeton University)
Zhengren Zhu (Yale University)
Christopher Ksoll (Mathematica Policy Research)
Diana Zhu (Yale University)
Soonwoo Kwon (Yale University)
Fabrizio Zilibotti (Yale University)
Louise Laage (Yale University)
Seth Zimmerman (University of Chicago)
Kevin Lang (Boston University)