2018 Summer Conference: Counterfactual Analysis in Quantitative Models of International Trade

June 6, 2018

Location: Yale School of Management 
Evans Hall, 165 Whitney Ave., Room 2200

[Hotel Map - Building Map]

Organizers: Michael Peters and Andrés Rodríguez-Clare



Wednesday, June 6
8:00am to 9:00am Registration and Breakfast
9:00am to 9:50am Stephan Heblich (University of Bristol), *Stephen J. Redding (Princeton University), Daniel M. Sturm (London School of Economics), The Making of the Modern Metropolis: Evidence from London*"The Making of the Modern Metropolis: Evidence from London"
9:50am to 10:00am
Discussant: Jonathan Dingel (University of Chicago Booth)
10:00am to 10:15am Coffee Break
10:15am to 11:05am Rodrigo Adao (University of Chicago Booth), *Costas Arkolakis (Yale University), Federico Esposito (Tufts University), "Spatial Links Globel Shocks and Local Labor Markets Theory and Evidence"
11:05am to 11:15am
Discussant: Esteban Rossi-Hansberg (Princeton University)
11:15am to 11:30am Coffee Break
11:30am to 12:30pm Emi Nakamura (Columbia University), *Jón Steinsson (Columbia University), "Identification in Macroeconomics"
12:30pm to 2:00pm Lunch
2:00pm to 2:50pm *Chang-Tai Hsieh (University of Chicago Booth), Peter J. Klenow (Stanford University), Ishan Nath (University of Chicago), "A Global View of Creative Destruction"
2:50pm to 3:00pm
Discussant: Samuel Kortum (Yale University)
3:00pm to 3:15pm Coffee Break
3:15pm to 4:05pm Spencer G. Lyon (New York University), *Michael Waugh (New York University Stern), http://www.waugheconomics.com/uploads/2/2/5/6/22563786/lw_quant_losses.pdf"Quantifying the Losses from International Trade"
4:05pm to 4:15pm
Discussant: Martin Beraja (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
4:15pm to 4:30pm Coffee Break
4:30pm to 5:20pm *Nelson Lind (Emory University), Natalia Ramondo (University of California, San Diego), "Trade with Correlation"
5:20pm to 5:30pm
Discussant: Arnaud Costinot (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
6:00pm Dinner - Sam Kortum's Home


Daisuke Adachi
(Yale University)
Nels Lind
(University of California, San Diego)
Rodrigo Adao
(University of Chicago Booth)
Ferdinando Monte
(Georgetown University)
Costas Arkolakis
(Yale University)
Monica Morlacco
(Yale University)
Martin Beraja
Yusuke Narita
(Yale University)
Joaquin Blaum
(Brown University)
Ishan Nath
(University of Chicago)
Charles Cai
(Yale University)
Guillermo Noguera
(Yale University)
Arnaud Costinot
(Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Nitya Pandalai Nayar
(University of Texas at Austin)
Jonathan Dingel
(University of Chicago Booth)
Fernando Parro
(Johns Hopkins University)
Dave Donaldson
(Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Max Perez Leon Quinoso
(Yale University)
Fabian Eckert
(Yale University)
Armando Perez-Gea
(Yale University)
Federico Esposito
(Tufts University)
Michael Peters
(Yale University)
Cecilia Fieler
(University of Pennsylvania)
Stephen Redding
(Princeton University)
Teresa Fort
(Dartmouth College)
Andrés Rodriguez-Claire
(University of California, Berkeley)
Eduardo Fraga
(Yale University)
Esteban Rossi-Hansberg
(Princeton University)
Brian Greaney
(Yale University)
Peter Schott
(Yale University)
Zijian He
(Yale University)
Joseph Shapiro
(Yale University)
Mads Hejlesen
(Aarhus University)
Olav Sorenson
(Yale University)
Changtai Hsieh
(University of Chicago Booth)
Jón Steinsson
(Columbia University)
Zhen Huo
(Yale University)
Chen Daisy Sun
(Yale University)
Yiraj Jorapur
(Yale University)
Sharon Traiberman
(New York University)
Tatjana Kleineberg
(Yale University)
James Tybout
(Pennsylvania State University)
Al Klevorick
(Yale University)
Vanessa Vytlacil
(Yale University)
Samuel Kortum
(Yale University)
Michael Waugh
(New York University Stern)
Antzelos Kyriazis
(Yale University)
Trevor Williams
(Yale University)
Jim Levinsohn
(Yale University)
Xiaochuan Xing
(Yale University)
Xiangliang Li
(Yale University)
Rui Zhang
(Peking University)