Conference in Structural Microeconomics

June 3-4, 2013

Organizers: Phil Haile and Peter Arcidiacono


8:00 Continental Breakfast
9:00 Rasmus Lentz (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “Optimal Wage-Tenure Contracts without Search Intensity Commitment
10:00 Break
10:15 Masakazu Ishihara (NYU Stern) and *Andrew Ching (University of Toronto), “Dynamic Demand for New and Used Durable Goods without Physical Depreciation: The Case of Japanese Video Games
11:15 Break
11:30 Naoki Aizawa (University of Pennsylvania) and *Hanming Fang (University of Pennsylvania), “Equilibrium Labor Market Search and Health Insurance Reform
12:30 Lunch
1:45 Martin Gaynor (Carnegie Mellon University), Carol Propper (University of Bristol), and *Stephan Seiler (Stanford University), “Free to Choose? Reform and Demand Response in the English National Health Service
2:45 Break
3:00 George-Levi Gayle (Washington University-St. Louis), *Limor Golan (Washington University-St. Louis), and Mehmet Soytas (Ozegin University), “What Accounts for the Racial Gap in Time Allocation and Intergenerational Transmission of Human Capital?
6:00 Dinner, Union League Café, 1032 Chapel Street
8:00 Continental Breakfast
9:00 Michael Egesdal (Harvard University), Zhenyu Lai, (Harvard University) *Che-Lin Su (University of Chicago Booth), “Estimating Dynamic Discrete-Choice Games of Incomplete Information
10:00 Breal
10:15 *Jaap Abbring (Tilburg School of Economics and Management), Jeffrey Campbell (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago), Jan Tilly (University of Pennsylvania), and Nan Yang (National University of Singapore), “Very Simple Markov-Perfect Industry Dynamics
11:15 Break
11:30 Jonathan James (Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland), “Learning and Occupational Sorting
12:30 Lunch
1:45 *Jakub Kastl (Stanford University), Nuno Cassola (European Central Bank), and Ali Hortaçsu (University of Chicago) “Liquidity Auctions, Fixed Rate Tenders, Bailouts & Systemic Risk in EURO Zone”
2:45 Break
3:00 Elliot Anenberg (Federal Reserve Board of Governors) and *Patrick Bayer (Duke University), “Endogenous Sources of Volatility in Housing Markets: The Joint Buyer-Seller Problem” (with


Jaap Abbring (Tilburg School of Economics)
Naoki Aizawa (University of Pennsylvania)
Joseph Altonji (Yale University)
Peter Arcidiacono (Duke University)
Jorge Balat (Johns Hopkins University)
Patrick Bayer (Duke University)
Steven Berry (Yale University)
Marianne Bruins (Yale University)
Xiaohong Chen (Yale University)
Andrew Ching (University of Toronto)
Chris Conlon (Columbia University)
Uli Doraszelski (University of Pennsylvania)
Michael Egesdal (Harvard University)
Ying Fan (University of Michigan)
Hanming Fang (University of Pennsylvania)
Chao Fu (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Amit Gandhi (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Jonah Gelbach (Yale University)
Kenneth Gillingham (Yale University)
Limor Golan (Washington University-St. Louis)
Mitch Hoffman (Yale University)
Philip Haile (Yale University)
Mitsuru Igami (Yale University)
Fedor Iskhakov (University of Oslo)
Jonathan James (Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland)
Jihye Jeon (NYU Stern)
Przemyslaw Jeziorski (UC Berkeley)
Jakub Kastl (Stanford University)
John Kennan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Alvin Klevorick (Yale University)
Samuel Kortum (Yale University)
Ahmed Khwaja (Yale School of Management)
Zhenyu Lai (Harvard University)
Amanda Kowalski (Yale University)
Margaret Leighton (Toulouse School of Economics)
Rasmus Lentz (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Iourii Manovskii (University of Pennsylvania)
Robert Miller (Carnegie Mellon University)
Juan Pantano (Washington University)
Nick Papageorge (Johns Hopkins University)
Mar Reguant (Stanford University)
Jean-Marc Robin (Sciences-Po)
Camilla Roncoroni (Yale University)
John Rust (Georgetown University)
Marcel Sant’Anna (Yale University)
Bertel Schjerning (University of Copenhagen)
Stephan Seiler (Stanford University)
Paulo Somaini (MIT)
Kyungchul (Kevin) Song (University of British Columbia)
Steve Stern (University of Virginia)
Che-Lin Su (University of Chicago Booth)
K. Sudhir (Yale University)
Chris Taber (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Nathan Yang (Yale University)