Conference on Economic Theory

June 22-23, 2009

Organizers: Johannes Hörner & Larry Samuelson

8:00 Continental Breakfast
  SESSION 1. REPEATED GAMES — Chaired by Larry Samuelson
9:00 Dilip Abreu (Princeton University),Implementing the Nash Program in Stochastic Games” (with David Pearce)
10:00 Break
10:15 Moritz Meyer-ter-Vehn (UCLA), “Reputational Incentives and Dynamics” (with Simon Board)
11:15 Break
11:30 Alberto Bisin (New York University), “The Distribution of Wealth and Fiscal Policy in Economies with Finitely-Lived Agents” (with Jess Benhabib)
12:30 Lunch
  SESSION 2. INFORMATION — Chaired by Johannes Hörner
2:30 Tri Vi Dang (Mannheim & Cowles Visitor) and Gary Gorton (Yale School of Management), “Security Design and Information Acquisition” (with Bengt Holmstrom)
3:30 Break
3:45 Ennio Stacchetti (NYU), “Insider Trading with a Random Deadline” (with Rene Caldentey)
4:45 Break
5:00 Luis Rayo (University of Chicago), “Optimal Information Disclosure” (with Ilya Segal)
7:00 Dinner, Barcelona, 155 Temple Street
  SESSION 3: OPTIMIZATION — Chaired by Herbert Scarf
9:00 Bruno Strulovici (Northwestern University), “Comparative Statics and Informativeness with the Interval Dominance Order” (with John Quah)
10:00 Break
10:15 Felix Kubler (Zurich), “Verifying Competitive Equilibria in Dynamic Economies”
11:15 Break
11:30 Yeon-Koo Che (Columbia University), “Implementing Random Assignments: A Generalization of Birkhoff-von Neumann Theorem” (with Eric Budish, Fuhito Kojima, and Paul Milgrom) [Slides]
12:30 Lunch
  SESSION 4. MECHANISM DESIGN — Chaired by Eduardo Faingold
2:30 Parag Pathak (MIT), “Comparing Mechanisms by their Vulnerability to Manipulation” (with Tayfun Sonmez)
3:30 Break
3:45 Tristan Tomala (HEC, Paris), “Mechanism Design and Communication Networks” (with Ludovic Renou)
4:45 Break
5:00 Ed Schlee and Hector Chade (Arizona State University), “Optimal Insurance with Adverse Selection


Alp Atakan (Northwestern University)
Heski Bar-Isaac (New York University)
Alberto Bisin (New York University)
Eric Budish (Harvard Business School)
Hector Chade (Arizona State)
Yeon-Koo Che (Columbia University)
Chia-Hui Chen (MIT)
Tri Vi Dang (Mannheim & Cowles Visitor)
Joyee Deb (New York University)
Luciano de Castro (Northwestern University)
Abreu Dilip (Princeton University)
Mehmet Ekmekci  (Northwestern University)
Herold Florian (Northwestern University)
Gary Gorton (Yale University)
Brett Green (Stanford University)
Marina Halac (UC- Berkeley)
Philipp Kircher (University of Pennsylvania)
Fuhito Kojima (Harvard University)
Felix Kubler (Zurich)
Qingmin Liu (University of Pennsylvania)
George Mailath (University of Pennsylvania)
Moritz Meyer-ter-Vehn (UCLA)
Mihai Manea (Harvard University)
Parag Pathak (MIT)
Andrew Postlewaite (University of Pennsylvania)
John Quah (Oxford University)
Luis Rayo (Chicago Booth)
Ludovic Renou (University of Leicester)
Bill Sandholm (University of Wisconsin)
Herbert Scarf (Yale University)
Ed Schlee (Arizona State University)
Vasiliki Skreta (New York University)
Ennio Stacchetti (New York University)
Bruno Strulovici (Northwestern University)
Tomasz Strzalecki (Northwestern University)
Satoru Takahashi (Princeton University)
Tristan Tomala (HEC, Paris)
Andrea Wilson (NYU)
Frances Xu (Cornerstone Research)

Conference Frequently Asked Questions

Yale provides visitors two Wi-Fi network options:

  • YaleGuest
  • Eduroam

YaleGuest is a public, insecure wireless network available for anyone’s use, but has limited network access. Due to security reasons, certain programs and functionality may not be accessible via the YaleGuest network, e.g., Dropbox, Skype, and Box.  

If possible, we recommended you use the Eduroam wireless network.  Eduroam (education roaming) is a secure, world-wide roaming access service that allows students, researchers and staff from participating institutions to obtain Internet connectivity across campuses when visiting other participating institutions.

If your institution is a partneraccess the Eduroam network by selecting Eduroam from the Wi-Fi list on your mobile device and sign-in using your home institution’s credentials*. View Eduroam’s complete listing of U.S. participating schools; International visitors can look for institutional listings on this country page.

For additional details, please contact your institution’s IT department or search your institution’s support page.

*Credential format is typically, e.g., or

The conference will be held at the Yale School of Management (SOM), Evans Hall located at 165 Whitney Ave and is about a 20 minute walk from the Blake Hotel. The easiest route to SOM from the Blake Hotel is to go south-east on George Street and turn left on Temple St. Temaple will merge into Whitney Avenue. SOM will be on the right side of the street across from the Peabody Museum (see map below).

The conference will be held at the Yale School of Management (SOM), Evans Hall located at 165 Whitney Ave and is about a 15 minute walk from the Omni Hotel. The easiest route to SOM from the Omni Hotel is to go north on Temple St. which merges into Whitney Avenue. SOM will be on the right side of the street across from the Peabody Museum (see map below).

For travel expense reimbursement for the 2020 Cowles GE Conference, please send the following items by Friday, July 31, 2020.

For travel expense reimbursement for the 2020 Cowles Summer Conferences, please send the following items by Friday, September 11, 2020.


  • Complete the appropriate online conference travel reimbursement form (These online forms allow you to upload any/all relevant forms and receipts which will be bundled together as one document):
  • Please upload any/all receipts for airfare (economy only)/rail and ground transportation. Receipts must be itemized and show proof of payment (i.e., if paid by credit card the receipt should show the last 4 digits of the credit card).

Note, vouchers for previously canceled or unrelated travel cannot be reimbursed if used to pay for any Cowles related travel.





Email or send original receipts, completed travel reimbursement form, and applicable international forms to:

Darlene Smith
Event & Visitor Assistant Administrator
Cowles Foundation at Yale University
30 Hillhouse Avenue
P.O. Box 208281
New Haven, CT 06520

Email questions to Darlene Smith


The conference sessions are held on the second floor in Evans Hall at the Yale School of Management. Restrooms can be found on the perimeter of the building along the sides and back of the building.

Click to enlarge

The Cowles Foundation is located in the heart of Yale’s campus at 30 Hillhouse Avenue.  Use the Yale online campus map to help find your way around.

If you need assistance with an Omni Hotel room reservation, please contact Alyson Perri, Convention Services Manager, Omni Hotels.

In cases of emergency, contact the appropriate department listed below:

You can also report a crime or send an anonymous text tip through our Bulldog Mobile (LiveSafe) app. (To register for Bulldog Mobile please visit the Yale LiveSafe page)

For addtional emergency information, visit the Yale Emergency Management website.

Yes, a shuttle bus will be arranged to drive between the hotel and conference location. Typically, an announcement will be sent out from Darlene Smith the day before with additional information.