2016 Conference on Econometrics

June 9-10, 2016

Watson Center, 60 Sachem Street, Room A53 [Map]

Organizers: Edward Vytlacil and Azeem Shaikh

*Presenter, when more than one author listed

8:00 Breakfast
9:00 *Ivan Canay (Northwestern University)Federico Bugni ​(Duke University), and Azeem Shaikh ​(University of Chicago)Inference Under Covariate Adaptive Randomization
9:45 *Simon Lee (Institute for Fiscal Studies), Pedro Carneiro ​and Daniel Wilhelm (University College London), “Optimal Data Collection in Randomized Control Trials”
10:30 Coffee Break
10:50 *Rajeev Dehejia and Cyrus Samii (New York University) and Cristian Pop-Eleches ​(Columbia University),From Local to Global: External Validity in a Fertility Natural Experiment
11:35 Amanda Kowalski (Yale University), “Doing More When You’re Running LATE: Applying Marginal Treatment Effect Methods to Examine Treatment Effect Heterogeneity in Experiments
12:20 Lunch
1:20 *Toru Kitagawa (University College London) and Aleksey Tetenov ​(University of Bristol), “Equality-Minded Treatment Choice”
2:05 *Erik Snowberg (California Institute of Technology) and Sylvain Chassang ​(Princeton University), “A Theory of Experimenters”
2:50 Coffee Break
3:10 Berk Özler (World Bank), Sarah Baird (George Washington University), *J. Aislinn Bohren ​(University of Pennsylvania), and Craig Macintosh (University of California-San Diego), “Designing Experiments to Measure Spillover Effects”
3:55 Rodrigo Pinto (University of California-Los Angeles), “Selection Bias in a Controlled Experiment: The Case of Moving to Opportunity”
4:40 *Jorge Luis Garcia, James J. Heckman, Andres Hojman, Yu Kyung Koh, Joshua Shea and Anna Laura Ziff (University of Chicago)“Analyzing the Short- and Long-term Effects of Early Childhood Education on Multiple Dimensions of Human Development”
7:00 Dinner, Zinc Restaurant, 964 Chapel Street [Map]
8:00 Breakfast
9:00 *James Robins (Harvard University) and Thomas Richardson (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “Doubly Robust Inference in IV models using Parametrizations that respect IV inequalities”
9:45 *Stefan Wager and Susan Athey ​(Stanford University), “Estimation and Inference of Heterogeneous Treatment Effects Using Random Forests”
10:30 Coffee Break

*Alex Torgovitsky (Northwestern University), Andres Santos (University of California-San Diego) and Magne Mogstad ​(University of Chicago), “Extrapolation of Instrumental Variables Estimators Towards Externally Valid Parameters”

11:35 *Raymond Guiteras (University of Maryland), James Berry (Cornell University), and Greg Fischer (London School of Economics), “Eliciting and Utilizing Willingness to Pay: Evidence from Field Trials in Northern Ghana”
12:30 Lunch


Donald Andrews (Yale University)
Timothy Armstrong (Yale University)
Peter Aronow (Yale University)
Debopam Bhattacharya (University of Cambridge)
J. Aislinn Bohren (University of Pennsylvania)
Anna Bykhovskaya (Yale University)
Ivan Canay (Northwestern University)
Matias Cattaneo (University of Michigan)
Arun Chandersekar (Stanford University)
Xiaohong Chen (Yale University)
Victor Chernozhukov (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
David Childers (Yale University)
Timothy Christensen (New York University)
Giovanni Compiani (Yale University)
Gregory Cox (Yale University)
Forrest Crawford (Yale University)
Rajeev Dehejia (New York University)
Kirill Evdokimov (Princeton University)
Max Farrell (University of Chicago-Booth)
Jorge Luis Garcia (University of Chicago)
Julia Garlick (Yale University)
Raymond Guiteras (University of Maryland)
Sukjin Han (University of Texas-Austin)
Sung Jae Jun (Pennsylvania State University)
Shakeeb Khan (Duke University)
Toru Kitagawa (University College London)
Yuichi Kitamura (Yale University)
Pat Kline (University of California-Berkeley)
Michal Kolesár (Princeton University)
Amanda Kowalski (Yale University)
Soonwoo Kwon (Yale University)
Louise Laage (Yale University)
Simon Lee (Institute for Fiscal Studies)
Lorenzo Magnolfi (Yale University)
Konrad Menzel (New York University)
Anna Mikusheva (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Ismael Yacoub Mourifie (University of Toronto)
Francesca Molinari (Cornell University)
Karthik Muralidharan (University of California-Los Angeles)
Yusuke Narita (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Whitney Newey (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
José Montiel Olea (Columbia University)
Berk Özler (World Bank)
Rodrigo Pinto (University of California-Los Angeles
Ana Reynoso (Yale University)
James Robins (Harvard University)
Christoph Rothe (Columbia University)
Cyrus Samii (NYU)
Azeem Shaikh ​(University of Chicago)
Xiaoxia Shi (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Erik Snowberg (California Institute of Technology)
Eduardo Augusto de Souza-Rodrigues (University of Toronto)
Joerg Stoye  (Cornell University)
Elie Tamer (Harvard University)
Aleksey Tetenov (University of Bristol)
Alexander Torgovitsky (Northwestern University)
Yen Tran (Yale University)
Allen lo Kuan Vong (Yale University)
Ed Vytlacil (Yale University)
Stefan Wager (Stanford University)
Daniel Wilhelm (University College London)
Yujung Whang (Yale University)

Reimbursement Forms